Articles about video games and gamers.
penix
Site Admin

Rape, Violence and Misogyny in Video Games

Post by penix »

http://www.complex.com/tech/2013/06/rap ... ideo-games

Rape, Violence and Misogyny in Video Games
By Michael Thomsen | Jun 19, 2013

A close look at the themes and gender roles explored in your favorite video games.

It wasn't until I started working in the video game industry that I began to hear the word "rape" on a regular basis.

I worked as a game tester for a major publisher, spending my days working through connectivity checklists in a room with the shades permanently drawn.

Among the 15 or 20 other people, there were only two women. Throughout the day, “rape” would be used as a way to describe everything from cell phone service plans to shooting other players in the few moments of actual play time we were allowed. I'd heard the word used in those loose contexts before, but never with such regularity. A few years earlier I'd worked overseas with a woman who had been sent home after being raped, and while it didn't offend me to hear all the other guys use the word, I couldn't use it in such a lighthearted way.

As video game culture has become ascendent in the last decade, a seemingly violent subculture has risen alongside it. These are people who form their identity around a willingness to use the most aggressively offensive language in contexts where they are least likely to have any literal truth.

At last week's E3, one of the most recent critics of this masculine antagonism, documentarian Anita Sarkeesian, was given an incomprehensibly aggressive response when she noted that none of Microsoft’s newly announced Xbox One titles feature women protagonists. She posted a number of deeply hostile responses from her Twitter feed, some calling her "cunt," "the biggest bitch of all time," or simply "entitled."